Scenes from the Marathon Super Boat Grand Prix

WHM Motorsports, left, piloted by William Mauff and Jay Muller, has a Superboat class lead over Team Amsoil, with Bob Teague and Paul Whitier at the controls, during the Marathon Super Boat Grand Prix Sunday, July 5, 2015, in Marathon, Fla. But after completing only one lap, WHM suffered a mechanical breakdown and Amsoil went on to win the class. FOR EDITORIAL USE ONLY (Bob Care/Florida Keys News Bureau/HO)

By FloridaKeysNewsBureau For, July 6, 2015 – MARATHON, Fla. (AP) – Powerboat racers Jeff Harris and John Tomlinson have piloted CMS to a Superboat Unlimited class victory at the Marathon Super Boat Grand Prix in the Florida Keys.

Harris of Greenville, North Carolina, and Tomlinson of Miami were the fastest of the fleet Sunday, averaging 98.75 mph.

Paul Whitier and Bob Teague, both of Valencia, California, took top honors in the Superboat class. They averaged 95.06 mph around the 20-lap, 75.2-mile course that features two turns near the Seven Mile Bridge.

Joe Irwin and Gino Marrone, both of New Port Richey, Florida, won the Manufacturer Production class while Peter Meyer of Port Washington, New York, and John Stanch of Westmont, New Jersey, captured the Superboat Extreme class.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Pictures courtesy Florida Keys News Bureau