A motorcyclist in Florida is protected under Florida law if he or she is wearing a motorcycle helmet that meets federal safety standards. However, this does not mean that you need to wear a helmet when riding your motorcycle.
Many riders choose to ride without a helmet for a number of reasons. You may feel more comfortable without a helmet, or you may not want to wear one because of the extra weight it can add to your bike.
What Is Florida’s Helmet Law for Motorcycle Riders?
Florida’s helmet law has been in place since 1999. Before that time, many riders did not have to wear a helmet, but if they didn’t they could be charged with reckless driving. The law was passed to protect riders who were not insured and to help prevent injuries.
When a rider is required to wear a helmet, it must be U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) compliant. This means that the helmet must meet certain standards for the protection it provides. For example, it must be able to withstand an impact with a specific force and provide a specified amount of protection against concussions and head injuries.
Florida has a motorcycle helmet law that requires riders to wear helmets. If you are not wearing a helmet, you can be fined $20 for a first offense and $100 for subsequent offenses. The Florida statute 316.2111 is also known as the “Helmet Law.
The most common cause of head injuries in motorcycle accidents is a blow to the head from an object that comes flying off another vehicle or a moving object. These types of injuries can be caused by a collision with another vehicle or by contact with a fixed object.
In Florida, a motorcycle helmet is required by law unless you meet one of these two criteria:
- You are older than 21 years old, or
- You have insurance that offers at least $10,000 in medical benefits.
Florida’s motorcycle helmet law does not apply to riders who are 16 years of age or younger. However, all riders 16 years old and older must wear a helmet that meets the requirements of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) or an approved DOT helmet.
Complying with Florida’s Motorcycle Insurance Exception
The Florida Motorcycle Insurance Exception is a law that exempts Florida residents from purchasing any additional insurance for their motorcycles. This law applies to all vehicles that are driven on public roads in Florida. The law was established in order to protect Florida residents from paying additional premiums on their auto insurance policies. In the event that a motorcyclist is involved in an accident with another vehicle or pedestrian, Florida’s PIP coverage will not be sufficient to cover medical bills or lost wages.
When Did Florida Repeal Its Motorcycle Helmet Law?
As of July 1, 2020, Florida no longer requires all motorcyclists to wear helmets while riding. The new law allows riders to operate a motorcycle without a helmet if the rider is under the age of 18. Riders who are at least 18 years old can still be required to wear a helmet.
Is Florida’s Motorcycle Helmet Law Constitutional?
The court found that the law did not violate due process because it was rationally related to a legitimate government interest, and it did not violate the equal protection clause because there was no evidence that it treated a suspect class differently from any other group. The court also ruled that the law did not violate the privacy rights of riders by requiring them to wear helmets, as they were already required to wear seatbelts and to wear eyeglasses.
The U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that states have the authority to make helmets mandatory for motorcyclists. The case was brought by a woman who had been injured in a motorcycle accident. She argued that the state did not have the authority to force her to wear a helmet because it was a personal choice.
The Supreme Court has ruled that states can pass laws that regulate motorcycle helmets. This ruling was made in a case where a young man was killed when his motorcycle collided with a car. The family sued the state and argued that the state had no authority to enact a law that required a motorcycle helmet. The court disagreed and ruled that the law was a valid exercise of the state’s police power.
Is Eye Protection Required for Motorcyclists in Florida?
The state of Florida requires all motorcycle operators to wear eye protection. This includes both riders and passengers. If an operator is not wearing eye protection, they can be cited for a traffic violation.
What Is the Penalty for Operating a Motorcycle Without a Helmet in Florida?
This is a great question. If you are caught without a helmet, you could receive a $10 fine, but there are no points added to your license. There are certain states where you can get points added to your driver’s license, and in those states, a citation with a fine would be more expensive.
Florida Motorcycle Helmet Laws and Car Accident Compensation
Florida law requires motorcycle riders to wear a helmet, but what if you are injured in a car accident where the other party was at fault and did not have insurance? In this case, you could be entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Motorcyclists are required to wear helmets in Florida, but the law does not require motorcyclists to wear a helmet if the motorcyclist is traveling at less than 25 miles per hour and the rider’s head is below the level of the vehicle. This is known as the “no-helmet” zone.