Home Newsweek.com Blood Moon: How To Watch The Lunar Eclipse From The U.S.

Blood Moon: How To Watch The Lunar Eclipse From The U.S.

SHARE
Blood
Image Credit: NASA Ames Research Center/Brian Day (2014)

Skywatchers in Asia, Africa, Europe, South America, Oceania and Antarctica will be able to watch at least some of the longest lunar eclipse of the century on the night of July 27-28.

But moongazers in the U.S. are set for disappointment. The country is about as far from the viewing zone as possible and won’t even catch a glimpse of the spectacle.

But have no fear. If you live in America you can still bathe in the blushing glow of the blood moon… from your computer screen. Websites like the Virtual Telescope Project and Timeanddate.com are offering free live streams of the exciting event. So grab your lunch, draw your curtains and brighten your laptop display. Spanish speakers can enjoy the eclipse via sky-live.tv, which will broadcast the eclipse from Namibia.

The Virtual Telescope Project stream will capture the blood moon from Rome, Italy, from 6:30 p.m. UTC—that’s 2:30 p.m. ET and 11:30 a.m. PT. Timeanddate.com’s coverage begins a little earlier at 6:00 p.m. UTC (2:00 p.m. ET and 11:00 a.m. PT). It will track the glowing orb using telescopes in Greece, Australia and South Africa. Sky-live.tv’s coverage will start at 6:20 p.m. UTC (2:20 p.m. ET and 11:20 a.m. PT).

Newsweek, excerpt posted on SouthFloridaReporter.com, July 24, 2018

SHARE